Trip to Medan

From 11-12 December 2008, I went to Medan for a family trip + my mom’s office trip. It was an OK journey to me. I wasn’t excited at all to go to Medan though it is my first international vacation with my family members. Perhaps its due to the reason that my mom paid the cost for me to go to this trip (thanks mama) makes me feel “Oh, ok. I’ll just follow you…” Still, I’m thankful to mom for the trip. 🙂

The first day we arrived in Medan, the Polonia region, one thing stuck into my mind.

“Oh, its like this..”

It looks different yet, some part is similar to what i’ve always seen in Malaysia. I noticed that the cabs are in blue colour and the model is from Hyundai. Cool, eh? And the bus Pariwisata (Pelancongan) that we take our ride on is like the busses in Malaysia, in the 90’s. Many cars on the road, as well as motobecak (motorcycle+beca).

First tour was around Medan city (which doesn’t look like a city in Malaysia). We went to a Toko Batik (Kedai Batik) and next we went to Ma’emun Palace which is located at the centre of the city (i guess). In the palace, I saw a pair of slipper made of Jerami (according to Ayah), green in colour, which attracted me above all other things in the palace. I admired it, somehow did not take the action to buy it. Perhaps at this moment, it is still there in the glass-board being displayed to be sold.

Then, the 2 hours travel to Brastagi, a highland area where the people there is well known as Batak Karo. Upon arriving, i knew it looks like Kundasang in Sabah. Its just that, I’ve never meet any horses when i was in Kundasang. There, the group bought a lot of fruits (their persimmon is seedless!), some merchandise, Batik Jawa, as well as Pecal which cost 500rp per pack. I bought a pair of sandals, brown in colour, as i need one back at home (and on Sunday, it got torned a bit… T.T). We stayed at a hotel, and dinner were served with planty of vegies. Ok, i love vegies. 🙂 Nothing really attracted me there besides seeing peoples at both of the roadsides looking at us, the people in Pariwisata bus with excited+oh-here-they-are expression on their faces. I was wondering through out the night if I would have a chance to make friends with them. To no avail (as I got stucked in the Hotel till morning).

The next day, we make our way to Danau Toba. Alright, this is interesting. The facts that Danau Toba is the biggest lake in Southeast Asia (which i don’t mind about that) and it is located at a highland area and was created due to a volcano erruption (this one really kicks me on!) makes it falls under the category of  ‘Must Visit’ when one is in North Sumatera. Approximately 3 hours journey, where we have another highland area as our pitsop (to have some Brandek [ginger tea]), and Sipiso-piso waterfall as the second pitstop, we had before we arrive at the Toba area. The people there is known as Batak Toba and we were taught by the tourist guide that these people speaks in a rough way (where i found as not true. Perhaps, i didn’t come accross one. Hoho)

In Toba, we went to Samosir Island (the island that i believe as the highest island in the world) which is located in the middle of Lake Toba. Great, eh? Go googling about Danau Toba and have a rough idea of how vast it is. Based on my information, which is obtained from the tourist guide, the depth of Lake Toba is approximately 450 metres and it took 12 hours of boat ride to orbit the Samosir Island. Huge, eh? Nothing much in Samosir Island. Tomok village, where many villagers sell merchandise (i bought a pair of nightgown and a Kain Samarinda), ancient Tombs of ancient kings, and naked boys swimming in the lake at the port yelling happily to the tourist “Lemparkan saja wang ringgitnya ibu! Lemparkan saja!”

Stayed at Niagara Inn, had dinner, and next morning had breakfast and we made our way back to Medan. 4 hours journey in a bus is really tiresome. Last pitstops, Pasar Ikan and Medan Mall. Then, to the airport, board the AK939 flight to go back to Malaysia. Just an OK journey, isn’t it? Or is it me who makes it feels just OK?

However, come to think of it back, I’m really touched by the greatnes of our Creator making the Earth as such a unique place. When I was on the boat heading to Samosir Island, the wind that blew is not as cold. I thought I’m just riding a boat on an ordinary lake like others. When I was on my way back to the main land, I realized that I’m at a special place. The air is getting colder, the view is just superb. Looking at the view, if I was not aware, I might believe I’m on the sea… Think of it back, yes… It really leave an awe expression in me. I would say thats the best part of my vacation in Medan.

Pictures? Had some. Will consider to upload it later. hehehehe…

Hey, let us think of this verse.

And We have set on the earth mountains standing firm, lest it should shake with them, and We have made therein broad highways (between mountains) for them to pass through: that they may recieve Guidance.

Quran, 21;31

I’ve seen it. And you?

About

Was born in January 5th 1989, the writer was brought up to view world in his own perspective. A lot have been counted as his interest, and lately, love to read like there is no tomorrow. By reading, the writer was encouraged to share his view/opinion/etc so that his life become more merrier. to know more about the writer, contact him at iqhakeem@gmail.com

Posted in Experience
2 comments on “Trip to Medan
  1. Here it is given good information about medan………Traveling during the holidays is always interesting. I also have some good information about the travel India.

    • iqhakim says:

      hey there, thanks! so, how is india? the utmost impotant thing to go hol’s is to hehehe… know the cosst. affordable or not. oh yeah… and depends on what type of person is going to the hol’s venue as some people prefer to stay at a luxurines of modern world, some would prefer a challenging life surrounded by the mother nature.

Leave a Reply

What is the date?
December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
