Awarded a title

Shah Rukh Khan was given the title Dato from Malacca State Government, Sultan of Pahang gave away Dato(s) during his birthday, Nicole Ann David, Lee Chong Wei, Michele Yeoh, Sheila Majid, Siti Nurhaliza, they all were awarded with the title Dato.

In academics, one of my friends were awarded Valedictorian in his pre-university course, read a post on the internet about valedictorian awarded to a friend of my friends, read the news about one malay girl were awarded with first receivers for Lanzo Award in Imperial College’s graduation days, and those titles are meanigful to them I believe.

However, some people questioned about the title given to those people. From our understanding, the title means their efforts, their hard works, their achievements are recognised and hence, deserve the titles. Some might say that fella is not worth it as some other fella is much better. Some might just ignore it as they don’t really mind about it. Some might feel disappointed if others get it while they don’t, some might feel happy on behalf of their friends who was awarded with it.

For me, the titles means something. It mean as ‘a title’ and will remain as it is. Will it makes any difference? Depends. Say you obtained a Dato in Malaysia, will you be upheld by the people in the market somewhere in Congo or Egypt? You are the best student in your University/College/School last year, will you be treated as one when you went to the ‘job world’? You are a minister, but the people of Britain do not know who you are, hence you are treated as an outsider at the back street. Got what I mean?

The title remains a title and it will not do anything. It will not cook, it will not dance, it will not sing, it will not help those in need, it will not rule the world, it will do nothing except remain as a title as it is. Boost up one’s motivation level? Perhaps. That is something which lies in oneself. How do we know and judge that? Hm…

Of course the title will do nothing as the one who did all the things to obtain the title is the person awarded with it. They are human and human can do so many good/bad things which make the deserve the titles. As long as they do something, an achievement is made. Their characteristics, attitude were changed after receiving the title not because of the title, but because of their very own selves. Human are the one who control themselves and they are responsible of what their did, not their title.

For me, I was rewarded with ‘Anugerah Sahsiah Terpuji’ for two consecutive years in MRSM Serting. I accept them but still, I do not think it is something. For me, as a human being, as a son, as a student, as a brother and as a friend, I have to show a good example, behave in a good manner and not to violate or cause harm either physically nor emotionally nor mentally to anyone. Thats all. The titles? As I say remains a title. In this outside world, some think that I’m very polite, there are others who think I’m aroogant and selfish. I can not say I don’t mind as I’ve mentioned it here ( ;p ). Still, what I did, I am responsible for it. All the comments/critics I’ve heard, will make me become a much ‘improved’ person in the future. And yes, it depends on me to improve myself, not the title.

Despite about things I’ve thought about the titles (of course the worldly one) , there is one which makes me fear to be me all the time. It is a very huge title that I’ve accepted it and all humans are one of it. It is our responsible to act as one, so that the title deserved for us.

“Behold, thy Lord said to the angels: ‘I will create a vicegerent on earth.’ They said :’Wilt Thou place therein one who will make mischief therein and shed blood?-whilst we do celebrate Thy praises and glorify Thy holy (name)?’ He said ‘I know what ye know not’.

Quran, 2;30

“We did indeed offer the Trust to the Heavens and the Earth and the Mountains; but they refused to undertake it, being afraid thereof; but man undertook it;-he was indeed unjust ad foolish;-(with the result) that God had to punish the Hypocrites, men and women, and the Unbelievers, men and women, and God turns in Mercy to the Believers, men and women: for God is Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful.”

Quran, 33;72-73

That is ‘Caliph’. We are the greatest being ever created by Allah the Almighty, and we have to do our parts in order to restore peace and balance of the mizan created by Him.

About

Was born in January 5th 1989, the writer was brought up to view world in his own perspective. A lot have been counted as his interest, and lately, love to read like there is no tomorrow. By reading, the writer was encouraged to share his view/opinion/etc so that his life become more merrier. to know more about the writer, contact him at iqhakeem@gmail.com

Posted in Fikrah, Opinion

Leave a Reply

