Man of your words

O ye who believe! Why say you that which ye do not? Grievously odious is it in the sight of God that ye say  that which ye do not.

Quran, 61;2-3

My dad once told me that he leave it to my brother and I to paint our room. He gave me MYR200 and say

“I won’t bother about it anymore.

“I hold on to your words.I replied.

The house that he build is 80% done and our room is supposedly painted. Somehow, the wall still covered with the undercoat paint. One day, my dad asked me

“When are you going to paint your room? I’ve given the money isn’t it?”

“You say you leave it to me?”

“…”

Whenever we say something, I always believe that we’ve got to prove that we are not merely ‘cakap kosong’. We mean what we say. That is how one’s credibility can be keep sound and safe. Imagine a world in which all people are bluffing. Will it be a world full of prosperity, peace and development? It is just too bad nowadays a lot of people are trained to be a person who say what they’ve did rather than do what they’ve said.

An example. Mommy always told son don’t tell lies as it is bad. When the phone rang, son picked up and looked at mommy. Whispering to the son, mommy say

“Mommy is not around”

And son is left speechless, analyzing what he’ve been taught. Now, son think that what mommy say is not the same of what mommy do. How can he solve the problem then? How can he accept what mommy told if mommy do the opposite thing of what she said?

My friends, in whatever we did, never ever ever say something that is not bareable by us. Be it a simple thing or be it as big as Everest mountain, always keep your words. Whether you’ve told it to someone, or it is a monologue, always keep your words. This way, we can retain our Iman, as well as our credibility.

About

Was born in January 5th 1989, the writer was brought up to view world in his own perspective. A lot have been counted as his interest, and lately, love to read like there is no tomorrow. By reading, the writer was encouraged to share his view/opinion/etc so that his life become more merrier. to know more about the writer, contact him at iqhakeem@gmail.com

Posted in Fikrah, Opinion

Leave a Reply

